Notorious CBJ: The Blue Jackets Become the First Team to Ever Sweep a President's Trophy Winner in NHL HIstory

By Sam Blazer on April 16, 2019 at 10:29 pm
Columbus Blue Jackets left wing Nick Foligno (71) celebrates defeating the Tampa Bay Lightning in game four of the first round of the 2019 Stanley Cup Playoffs at Nationwide Arena.
Aaron Doster-USA Today Sports
1 Comment

It actually happened.

The Columbus Blue Jackets made franchise history when they won their very first Stanley Cup playoff series. Within the great state of Ohio's borders, nothing will top that milestone.

If you go beyond those confines, though, the lasting memory of this series will be the Blue Jackets making league history. Until tonight, a President's Trophy winner had never been swept in the first round of the playoffs.

Tampa's no typical President's Trophy winner, either. Their 62 wins are historic for the cap era. Coming into these playoffs, they hadn't lost three games in a row all season. Then, Columbus sent them home in four. ​

That outcome seemed impossible after the series' first 20 minutes, as the Lightning jumped out to a 3-0 lead. For the rest of the series, though, Columbus utterly dominated, outscoring Tampa 19-5 in the last 11 periods of the series. 

Not a bad way to finally get to the second round, huh? 

1 Comment
View 1 Comments