Blue Jackets Announce Official Opening Night Roster for the 2019-20 Season

By Rob Mixer on October 1, 2019 at 2:46 pm
The Columbus Blue Jackets celebrate a goal scored by Zach Werenski against the Ottawa Senators at Nationwide Arena.
Aaron Doster – USA TODAY Sports

Official roster announcement? Check.

The Columbus Blue Jackets have released their 23-man opening night roster, which was submitted to the NHL office before today's 5 p.m. ET deadline. With season openers beginning Wednesday, teams were required to set their roster by the close of business on Tuesday.

We've followed position battles, rising stars, and plenty more throughout the Blue Jackets' training camp, which began two and a half weeks and six preseason games ago (RIP, Sept. 29 game that was cancelled). 

Here's the Blue Jackets' roster, grouped by position:

Forwards (13): Cam Atkinson, Pierre-Luc Dubois, Alexandre Texier, Gus Nyquist, Alexander Wennberg, Oliver Bjorkstrand, Nick Foligno, Boone Jenner, Josh Anderson, Jakob Lilja, Riley Nash, Emil Bemstrom, Sonny Milano

Defensemen (8): Seth Jones, Zach Werenski, Ryan Murray, David Savard, Markus Nutivaara, Dean Kukan, Vladislav Gavrikov, Scott Harrington

Goaltenders (2): Joonas Korpisalo, Elvis Merzlikins

Stay tuned right here at 1st Ohio Battery as we go in-depth on the Blue Jackets leading up to Friday's opener, which will include a staff roundtable, deep dive into key positions, and plenty more. 

View 6 Comments